Friday Spotlight Author of the Week:

Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare, or better yet Judith Rumelt, started her career off with The Mortal Instruments series. The first book that she released was City of Bones, in 2007. This was only that start of something that would become much bigger to all of those who read young adult novels. This was the start to the Shadowhunter world. This world is one that bring Shadowhunters together to fight and keep in line the demons, angels, vampires, warlocks, and werewolves all around the world.


The Mortal Instruments series has a total of six novels, the first one in 2007, and the last of the series being published in 2014. This series follows a group of Shadowhunters in New York, as they try to save the Shadowhunter race. The main characters Jace, Clary, Simon, Alec, Izzy, and Magnus all go through the trials of life of killing and hunting demons, as well as the usual teenage angst and drama. What is also great about this series is that in 2010 Clare’s next series The Infernal Devices was released. The characters that we had grown to love now had a back story.

The Infernal Devices series is set in London 1878 where we are introduced to Will, Jem, and of course Tessa. These three plus their counter parts throughout the trilogy are the ancestors to those in The Mortal Instruments series. We grow to love these character as much as the other because as much battling as we had been reading about, this series shows just how much love can prevail at any given time. It is even great that some of the characters that we had previously met are in the series as well and the things that just seem like coincidences are from a domino effect that is set up in this series.


Clare created this world for us to divulge our selves into, and she didn’t just stop with her book series. Clare has released a few series of short store, The Bane Chronicles that travels through the many stories of Magnus Bane, and Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy, which follows the life of Simon as he tries to regain his memory, and become a Shadowhunter. Besides these short stores, clare also released a Shadowhunter Codex, which in the Shadowhunters bible in a sense, and tell them the history and information about the demons and other creatures out there.

Clare is going to be releasing tow more series to go with her other Shadowhunter books. The Dark Artifices first book comes out in fall 2015, that will be a trilogy set five years after The Mortal Instruments. The next series with be The Last Hours, which will take place some time after The Infernal Devices, and the growth of the characters from this novel. I have to say that I know many authors have done this before where they create a whole world for us to live in, especially with Harry Potter, but I think these books with be around just as long and have just as much of an impact.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s