Kingdom Keepers – Disney After Dark by Ridley Pearson

20322287

Purchased: Walt Disney World – $8.99
My Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

Spoilers!

What’s it all about?
Five young teens tapped as models for theme park “guides” find themselves pitted against Disney villains and witches that threaten both the future of Walt Disney World and the stability of the world outside its walls.

Using a cutting-edge technology called DHI—which stands for both Disney Host Interactive and Daylight Hologram Imaging—Finn Whitman, an Orlando teen, and four other kids are transformed into hologram projections that guide guests through the park.

The new technology turns out, however, to have unexpected effects that are both thrilling and scary. Soon Finn finds himself transported in his DHI form into the Magic Kingdom at night. Is it real? Is he dreaming?

Finn’s confusion only increases when he encounters Wayne, an elderly Imagineer who tells him that the park is in grave danger. Led by the scheming witch Maleficent, a mysterious group of characters called the Overtakers is plotting to destroy Disney’s beloved realm, and maybe more.

This gripping high-tech tale will thrill every kid who has ever dreamed of sneaking into Walt Disney World after hours, and wondered what happens at night, when the park is closed. 

-Good Reads Synopsis

The Best Parts:
What I loved about this book if that going into it knowing it was a child novel, but it wasn’t written that way. The characters are in their early teens, but the story isn’t written as a teenage, but for a teenager, which makes a great deal of a difference. Even though I am in my 20’s I felt myself being able to understand everything that was happening, even though it was simplified. I also loved the fast and slow pace on the book. It was great to read a few paragraphs of them doing something then get back into the dialogue with the kids. It made the book seem to go a little smoother than others I have read.

The Worst Parts:
There were a few parts though that threw me off. There are some consistancy issues with the book, where they say one thing, or do one thing, and then it changes in the next chapter. This became more apparent today when I started book two. I understand that this is meant for younger kids, but I’m pretty sure they can also pick up even the little details that get changed frequently. I also thought some of the characters were a nuisance. The only characters I felt that were developed, and used properly were Finn, Philby, and Amanda. The other characters seemed to only be there because they had to. Maybe in the alter books they will get their chance, but right now I felt eh about them.

Final thoughts:
Right after I finished this book I opened number two and started it right away. I like that it didn’t automatically start at the same point, but it it’s own novel in the series. I currently own all 7 of the books in this series and am super excited to read them all. As you all know I’m a Disney Cast Member, and love everything Disney, so this adventure with these books is something I have looked forward to for a long time.

One thought on “Kingdom Keepers – Disney After Dark by Ridley Pearson

Leave a Reply

