Soundless by Richelle Mead

51QQcqfq4OL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

*This novel’s release date is set for November 10th*

Purchased: [Gift sampler from Net Galley – First 5 Chapters]

Rating [so far]: 5 of 5 stars

I love Richelle Mead, and though the books I have read by her are about vampires, let my just say this novel is just as good.

There is so much history and backstory going on in this novel and the use of sense within this novel just heightened mine. Soundless is a stand alone novel that captured my attention from the first sentence and then with learning the fact that no one in this novel could hear, and they all signed just made the communication and the thoughts of these characters so much more important.

When Net Galley contacted me about the 5 chapter sampler I quickly decided that it was something I wanted to read, although I didn’t read anything about this novel, but after reading these first five chapters and then reading the description I realized that this would not have been a novel that I sought out on my own or one that I thought I would want to become invested in.

Well, the one thing I can tell you is that I can’t wait for this book to come out because I want, no need, to know what is going to happen.

“For as long as Fei can remember, there has been no sound in her village, where rocky terrain and frequent avalanches prevent residents from self-sustaining. Fei and her people are at the mercy of a zipline that carries food up the treacherous cliffs from Beiguo, a mysterious faraway kingdom. 
 
When villagers begin to lose their sight, deliveries from the zipline shrink and many go hungry. Fei’s home, the people she loves, and her entire existence is plunged into crisis, under threat of darkness and starvation.
 
But soon Fei is awoken in the night by a searing noise, and sound becomes her weapon.”

Description take from Amazon.

15 thoughts on “Soundless by Richelle Mead

  1. It’s so different! It is wonderful, and normally I don’t like lots of descriptions in books or long paragraphs, but since they can’t talk besides signing, and they can’t hear. Everything had to be described. It makes it so much more powerful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This history that starts to unfold in it is very interesting. It’s very different, but a good different. There is a little romance aspect to it, but there is like a pride and prejudice thing going on where they are both too proud of themselves to say or do anything. It’s all very outer body experiencey, lol if that’s a word.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

