#WCW: Interview Style with Lisa N. Paul!

Let’s start this next #WCW: Interview Style with a bang! Who wants to meet one of the most awesome authors every who I have had the opportunity to be able to talk a lot to?! Did I mention she is also the author behind the awesome book Thursday Nights, the book that inspired the whole redesign of my blog?! I have Lisa N. Paul today here with us! Hope you guys enjoy her as much as I do ❤

First off, tell us a little bit about yourself:

1610839_800154976707324_8291262036221890777_n

Hmm, a little bit about myself – Okay, I’m a wife, a daughter, a mother, a sister, a friend and a comedian — (the order seems to change by the hour) and the comedian part used to be self-proclaimed, but I keep hearing that I’m super funny…so I fully believe that I am 😉 !!  I LOVE to read…like, LIVE for it. So that’s how I spend my free time. I don’t care if a book is far-fetched as long as the timelines work and the writing is good quality. That said, if the main character is part human, part wolf, part clown…bring it on!

Now for the questions:

1. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learn something new with every single book I write. With my first book, I learned that I had the ability to tell a great story, but that my writing kinda sucked. With my second book, I learned that I could bring not just myself but my readers to tears by writing what was in my heart onto the pages. My third book taught me that not all of my feeling would be well received by all readers but it didn’t mean that I shouldn’t write them if I believed in the story. My fourth book was a comedy, and that was super hard for me to write because I tend to write deep and dark…keeping the story lighter was a challenge, but one that I loved doing. And in my fifth book, I learned how to connect a story with three others that had already been written and still make something smooth and beautiful. I’m thinking that the day I stop learning should be the day I stop writing.

2. Do you ever experience writers block? How do you get around it?

I experience writer’s block between every single story I write. That’s why it takes me so long to produce. The way I get around it is by not forcing it. The story needs to come to me organically. All of my stories come from real life experiences (in some shape of form). So I just wait until inspiration strikes.

3. Have you ever fallen in love with one of your characters, who?

This question always makes me laugh. Not because it’s bad to ask, but because I’ve heard authors say they don’t fall in love with their characters. Honestly, I can’t imagine writing a book and NOT falling in love with my characters. Each and every one of them has a piece of my soul in them. Does that sound cheesy as hell? Probably. But it couldn’t be more true. So, to answer your question, I love them all. Even the nasty villains!!

4. Is there a message in your novels that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, there is always a message in my stories. Most of the time it’s perseverance will lead to unimaginable strength. And strength is what life is all about, in my opinion. Falling in love takes strength, admitting defeat takes strength, accepting help takes strength…everything day life is for the strong. No matter how weak one feels, they have inner reserves of strength they haven’t yet tapped. My characters, my stories are about learning to acknowledge ones strength.

5. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Give us some recommendations!

Since I love reading so much there are authors who make me happy all the time here is a short list:

Ilsa Madden-Mills

Joanne Schwehm

Lexi Blake (not new…but one of the best out there)

Meghan March

6. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I guess every author says the same thing…thanks for reading me. Thanks for supporting me. And I feel ALL of those things. Honestly, you have no idea how grateful I am to each person who picks up my stories. But the other thing I’d like to invite is this. I’m just a girl…a wife, a mom, a daughter etc. I write books that I release and I sit in my corner and hope that the people reading them are being entertained. So, if you are reading my books, feel free to drop me a note. Say, “hi”. I’ll respond. I love chatting with my readers…most of the time we become friends….because…well, I’m funny 😉

XO,

Lisa

3 thoughts on “#WCW: Interview Style with Lisa N. Paul!

Leave a Reply

