Swoon by CM Foss

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000026_00035]

Purchased: Kindle – $3.99 [Received copy from Author in exchange for honest review]

My Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

Spoilers!

What’s It All About:

Steph

I’ve never been your typical girl. I didn’t grow up in a warm fuzzy family, and emotions weren’t something I needed now. Love has never been something I could wrap my mind around, so why bother? I know what I’m good at. I’m a great friend, have a passion for healing others, and a way with horses. I can be all those things at the same time without ever discussing my own feelings.

Until him.

Lawrence

I’ve always been told I have a way with words. It’s one reason I manage the family business so well. I can wine and dine with the best of them, selling bloodlines and high-priced stallion services over a five-course dinner. I’m able to talk myself into or out of just about anything and anyone. 

Until her.

****

Young and carefree, living worlds apart, they indulged in what seemed like the perfect fling.

Until Lawrence decided he wanted more.

Until Steph’s careful world fell apart.

Until they had to decide if love was worth the fight.

Description taken from Amazon.

The Best Parts:

This novel. I have been trying for hours to describe this novel in simple terms, but the best I could come up with is a ballet. You know those ballets where the woman and man are fighting and they are eloquently dancing around the floor and the girl goes to leave and the man grabs her by the waist to bring her back to him and the she caves and they fight for who has the upper hand then she tries to leave again and he lets her and then he runs for her to capture her again. Yea that is how I would describe this novel. A wonderful and elegant ballet of emotions that have you tugging on who to be pissed of at. I’m pretty sure I cursed many times while reading this book and even in front of my husband who thought at one point in time that I was telling him to go fuck himself.

The style that this book was written in was different for me as it jumped a lot in time, but also kept you grounded. It gave you the time reference and only brought you back into the picture when something important happened. To the characters it might not have been as important to the readers, but that is why this novel worked so well. We got to see EVERYTHING and that made me more empathetic to BOTH parties which almost never happens.

The Worst Parts:

Lawrence is perfect and Steph gets on my fucking nerves. Basically they are my husband and I. I must say that there was a little too much back and forth sometimes and I think that they went through a little too much, but then again their heartache brought them closer together. Even though I thought the ending was a little too perfect and not enough confrontation with the other girls that Lawrence had been with, it worked. It just simply worked. Everything that was put into this novel was there for a reason and had a place in their relationship.

Final Thoughts:

I read this novel without have read Shiver, and in all truth I was caught up where I needed to be where I didn’t feel like I was missing anything. I read this in preparation for Falling with Style. It would be recommended to read this story before that one, but other than that the series seems pretty solid as far as intertwined stand-alones go.

Jordan Bates Reviews

Leave a Reply

