#WCW: Interview Style with the amazing Stacy Kestwick!

There are many authors who I have grown close to, but only a handful fill my heart with joy. Stacy Kestwick would happen to be one of those authors. I found her books by chance when I was chosen to read one in exchange for a review and fell in love. Recently Stacy has released her second book ever and it tops the first. I truly don’t know where I would be without her!

Tell us a little about yourself!

1979737_1622261168010268_2028621397739916131_n

[I love this photo! Sorry Stacy! <3]

I’m the author of the romantic comedies, Wet and Soaked. I’m a Southern girl who firmly believes mornings should be outlawed. My perfect day would include lounging on a hammock with a good book, carbohydrates, and the people around me randomly breaking into choreographed song and dance routines. It would not include bacon, cleaning, or anything requiring patience.

Do you have a specific writing style?

Linear. I have to write from start to finish, I can’t bounce around. Also, past tense. I can read past or present just fine, but I get tripped up trying to write present tense. Late at night. My mind works best between 10pm and 2am. And a steady supply of Cherry Coke Zero.

My writing itself tends to be quick, steamy, fun, with a dry, sarcastic sense of humor. I try to end each chapter with a punch that leaves you dying to turn the page, and above all, I aim for readability. I want the reader to be able to immerse themselves to the point where they forget they’re reading a story and they lose track of time altogether. When I see comments like that – I know I’ve succeeded.

How much of your own real life inspired your books?

Definitely bits and pieces. We take family vacations on the South Carolina coast, which inspired the setting for Water’s Edge. I pull amusing situations into the story that I’ve seen or heard or read about in the news. And I like using friends’ names on occasion for character names. In Wet and Soaked, Sadie has a fear of the ocean and a weakness for Krispy Kreme glazed doughnuts – quirks I pulled from myself.

Do you ever experience writers block? How do you get around it?

Yup. Either force the words out anyway or read. I’m still excited every time I pick up a book. I was a reader before I was a writer and, let’s be real, it’s easy to read than write, ya know? But when I’m reading, I’ll often stumble across a word or a phrase that sparks the creativity in my mind again and I go back to writing. If I’m really, really stuck, I’ll read something outside the genre completely. Last non-romance I read was Ready Player One – a phenomenal YA dystopian with an emphasis on video games and 80’s culture.

What is your biggest accomplishment as an author?

When other authors I respect and admire reach out to tell me they like my writing. Nothing beats that. Also, eating dinner with Colleen Hoover – because, I mean, what could beat that? I ate Colleen’s tacos! *swoon*

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Give us some recommendations! 

New? Hazel James is on the horizon and I’m digging her writing voice. Her debut drops later this month. Ones you might’ve missed – Lex Martin, Natasha Boyd, Yessi Smith, CM Foss, Brooke Blaine, and Jessica Prince.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Come play with me in my reader’s group – the Wreck! We have a blast in there and have really started to form our own little family. Plus, I have lots of author friends who drop by to make comments and hang out too.  https://www.facebook.com/groups/1430460503923699/

Leave a Reply

