Big Rock by Lauren Blakely – Review

Big Rock by Lauren Blakely

51U+kM44I5L._SX320_BO1,204,203,200_

Purchased: Barnes and Noble – $9.39

My Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

Spoilers!

What’s It All About:

It’s not just the motion of the ocean, ladies. It’s definitely the SIZE of the boat too. 

And I’ve got both firing on all cylinders. In fact, I have ALL the right assets. Looks, brains, my own money, and a big c&$k. 

You might think I’m an as%*$le. I sound like one, don’t I? I’m hot as sin, rich as heaven, smart as hell and hung like a horse. 

Guess what? You haven’t heard my story before. Sure, I might be a playboy, like the NY gossip rags call me. But I’m the playboy who’s actually a great guy. Which makes me one of a kind. 

The only trouble is, my dad needs me to cool it for a bit. With conservative investors in town wanting to buy his flagship Fifth Avenue jewelry store, he needs me not only to zip it up, but to look the part of the committed guy. Fine. I can do this for Dad. After all, I’ve got him to thank for the family jewels. So I ask my best friend and business partner to be my fiancée for the next week. Charlotte’s up for it. She has her own reasons for saying yes to wearing this big rock. 

And pretty soon all this playing pretend in public leads to no pretending whatsoever in the bedroom, because she just can’t fake the kind of toe-curling, window-shattering orgasmic cries she makes as I take her to new heights between the sheets. 

But I can’t seem to fake that I might be feeling something real for her. 

What the hell have I gotten myself into with this…big rock? 

BIG ROCK is a standalone, dirty romance novel written from the guy’s POV by NYT Bestselling author Lauren Blakely…

Description taken from Amazon.

The Best Parts:

If I could describe this novel, since it is in the POV of the male character only, I would have to say, word vomit. I love that Spencer doesn’t have a filter because it truly puts you into his perspective. Yes there is some dirty talk, and NO I don’t mean down and dirty, well sometimes, but like he says literally the FIRST thing that pops into his head. If it’s about his dick, hell yea he is going to say it. If it is truthful it is coming out of his mouth and he has no shame.

Getting to walk around in the mind of Spencer is almost like walking around in the mind of a girl. No matter how manly Spencer thought he was you knew exactly the moment Spencer fell and it was LONG before Charlotte.

The writing style made the book go quickly, but you still got a full story.  It was also kind of cute how the whole story was just one giant book of romance. Like if you are a guy who needs to know how to treat his woman in bed and on the street then this is it.

The Worst Parts:

I was scared when I got about half way through because you just know sometimes when the angsty part of a book is going to come, but what I loved about this was that is wasn’t really there. Yes there were times when Spencer had mini freak outs and then something did happen, but it wasn’t bad.

I wasn’t looking for an extremely angsty read when I started this so the climax for this was surprisingly welcome.

Final Thoughts:

I went into this book knowing that it would be good, but I didn’t expect it to be great. Like if you are looking for a feel good happy with the littlest bit of angst novels with a great HEA then this is it for you.

4 thoughts on “Big Rock by Lauren Blakely – Review

Leave a Reply

