Shadowhunter Shenanigans: Parabatai!

So I mentioned to a few of you that this week’s posts were going to be EPIC. Well that is because this week I am going all out for my posts. Yesterday I did my #MCM post for Jem Carstairs and today for Shadowhunter Shenanigans I want to dive into the world of Parabatai. Specifically I want to look at Jem/Will.

Now I chose Jem and Will because this duo is by the, in my opinion, the best Parabatai know to us. Before I start let’s look at what a Parabatai is and how they come together, this is for those of you who have only read some and/or none of the Shadowhunter series.

Entreat me not to leave thee,

Or return from following after thee—
For whither thou goest, I will go,

And where thou lodgest, I will lodge.

Thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God. 

Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried. 

The Angel do so to me, and more also,
If aught but death part thee and me.

This is the Oath for the Parabatai bond. In order to go through this ceremony and forever be bonded to, is a sense, your best friend you must be willing to spend the rest of your life with this person. You are able to connect as a Parabatai until the age of 19 and you are only ever able to do this once. There aren’t many Parabatai in this world, but when they do come together it is life changing.

When you connect with this bond you are able to sense the other’s life force and for some there is a magical presence when fighting with each other and writing runes on one another. With these bonds you can’t help but love both people who are in these bonds. Yes sometimes they both have completely different personalities and few have come to hate each other, but they also will always rely on one another no matter what.


CJ_Will_&_Jem_03

When Jem and will were just heading into teenagerland that it when Will decided that Jem would be his Parabatai. That’s right. The boy who wanted nothing to do with anybody chose the weak boy who was dying a slow death.

Now this seems like a tragedy, but it isn’t. This is literally the best thing to ever happen to these two boys. They learned to love and find comfort with one another and they also learned the are of trust. They were always there for each other.

These two went through hell and back, but they also went through love. Even though Will loved Tessa first, he knew that this is what Jem needed in life, and so he let his heart break so that Jem could be happy. Even in this happiness, they both shared heartbreak when Jem learned that he was getting weaker and there was no more yin fen left for him to take. That is when the Parabatai bond broke.

Jem became a Silent Brother. And Will, well his pain is the greatest I have seen from a Shadowhunter. The separation of bondage during this is in reflection of a Parabatai dying. The ruin bleeds and the bond/connection is permanently broken. Even though their lives were taken on two separate paths after this it never meant that they weren’t able to be soul brother any more. Jem made sure to be there for the most important times in Tessa and Will’s life and was even there for when Will died.


Out of all of the friendships I have read in this series, this one alone stands out the most. In life and in death these two will forever be there for one another. They have an unbreakable bond of love. A love that radiates down into further generations and one that will live on forever.

2 thoughts on “Shadowhunter Shenanigans: Parabatai!

  1. Tiegan

    I’m FINALLY reading the Shadowhunter’s Codex, and I just went past the parabatai oath. I think there’s an updated version now.

    I’m not familiar with Will and Jem– I only know what I know from The Bane Chronicles. I’ll have to look into that. IN THE RIGHT ORDER. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

