Bookshelf Friday!

Sorry every! I know I have bene super neglectful, but I got really sick last week, and it was just one hell of a week. Now with that being said, prepare for all of the awesomeness that is going to come!

So tonight I had my husband just choose a random shelf for me to go through so for this one I am super freaking excited about! Some of my favorite series are on this shelf!

20160819_210211

Let’s start down at the left end.

The House of Night series by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast is one that I have been wanting to read for a long time. It seems kind of daunting because I only have four books out of like 10-15 that are so far in the series, and a new one just came out. This is one of those rare ones I might just wait until the author is done, because if I play catch up now, I don’t know how much my heart can take XD

The next book is So Far from God by Ana Castillo. This book. God this book is phenomenal. I read this book for my magical realism lit class in college. Best class every, with the best books ever. Take what is real in the world and giving it a twist with mythical proportions, that just happen to be normal things in every day life.

The Invisible Gorilla by Christopher Chabris & Daniel Simons is not my books. It’s my husband. But it’s not one he had to read, its one he wanted to read and made me buy him, and guess what. He hasn’t read it -.-

The Story and It’s Write is large for a reason. It is an introduction to Short Fiction, and is basically an anthology of all the best short stories you have ever read. Notable Authors: Margaret Atwood, Kate Chopin, Time O’Brian, Alice Walker, and Virginia Woolf, just to name a few.

Speaking of Kate Choping, the next book on my shelf is one of my favorite classics. I read The Awakening for the first time my senior year of high school. This book had a huge impact on my life as the taboo topics that it holds are one dear and true to my heart. This book isn’t for everyone and definitely isn’t for the faint of heart.

Now the next book you can’t see in the photo because its super small and hidden. Top Girls by Caryl Churchill is an amazing play. If you ever wanted a play that was dark and serious and everything that you need in life, then this is it. It truly isn’t meant to be read, but luckily I had an amazing professor who gave me a CD with all the plays we read on them. So let me know if you want to watch it!

The next set of books I have are Manga books. The fall under the amazing Shadowhunter fandom, and yes they are The Infernal Devices Manga books. My love. Getting to SEE Will Herondale is something special let me tell you, and if you have all read Clockwork Princess, that awesome scene close to the end, yes that is in there. Buy. It. Now!

The Shadowhunter’s Codex is life. That is all. It is literally a book that tells and shows everything there is to know about the Shadowhunter world. It does read like a manual, so it is dry, but so worth every page turn.

Now, I’m just going to add to this Shadowhunter life, because the next six books are all The Mortal Instruments series. Now there is a funny story to these books. My husband bought me the first one and by the end of the night I was almost finished and he realized I was going to get the next one. Now instead of just letting me go get it myself, I came home the next night from work and he had bought me the rest of the books. Needless to say I finished five books in a week, but do you know the worst part of that? I had to wait 2 years for the last book -.- Stupid. But I bought it at open the day it released and then proceeded to finish it by 10 pm that night. Worth every minute and every damn tear.

The book that is right next to my Shadowhunter series is kind of hard to see since it is also really small. It’s Voices by Lucille Clifton. I read this for my woman’s literature class. This book is just pure poetry from the heart form an amazing woman.

The Latin Deli by Judith Ortiz Cofer. This is another book I read for my Magical Realism class. It is a blend of short story chapters and poems that weave into a beautiful story about life and what truly happens in it. It isn’t a long book, but you don’t need much from this book for it to seep into your heart.

If anyone knows me here they know I love anything Austen. Like anything, so it’s no surprise the I have Jane Austen in Scarsdale by Paula Martinez Cohen on my shelf. Here is the crazy thing though, I’ve never read it. That’s right. The Austen freak hasn’t read a spin off yet. :[

Now the last books on my shelf I’m going to kind of clump since they are all the same author. Eoin Colfer was BAE in middle and high school. I read everything by him ❤ And Another Things… was a more recent buy within the last 5 years. This book is a continuation from The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. Hell the fuck yes! The Supernaturalist is a funny book. I mean I loved it and the story, but this is actually my second copy… My mom bought me a copy in middle school and then realized it was a First Edition and so she stashed it away and bought me a paperback instead. Great story BTW. I’ve sadly not read Half-Moon yet. It’s supposed to be an aviation series that just never got finished, but it sits super pretty on my shelf. Now comes the series part. Artemis Fowl. Life. Holly Short. Butler. Moles. Faries. Everything you would ever want in a Fantasy YA novel series. Colfer did such an amazing job with this series and with the world that it encompasses.

So this shelf is a little bit of everything mixed into it, but some of my favorite fandoms and authors live on this shelf. Hope you all enjoy!

What is you favorite fandom? Who is you favorite author?

Leave a Reply

