Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris

24848328

Purchased: Gifted from Blogging for Books in exchange for honest review

My Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

Spoilers!

What’s it all about:

You are Neil Patrick Harris, so what are you going to do with your life? In this wonderful and fresh memoir Neil Patrick Harris sets the reader up as himself and lets you embark on the life path of your choice. There isn’t a wrong choice, but there also isn’t a right on either. Choose a path and see where you land in the life of Neil Patrick Harris!

The Best Parts:

Amazing. Wonderful. Exciting. Hilarious. I don’t know how else to describe this book than with praising words. I knew that the being about NPH’s life that it would be awesome, but I never thought that it would reach this level. When starting this adventure it is out of the gate funny, and then you have to make your first choice on what way in life you want to go, and let me just say that I have never had a harder time choosing a path in life. You don’t know where it is going to take you. There are some points that lead you straight to a dead end and you must start over, and there are other that lead you to a wonderful happily ever after, but they don’t include the entire NPH story. There are so many different ways to read this story and I literally spend the day roaming through this novel reading different paths of NPH’s life and don’t think that I have read everything that there is in this novel. There is so much more to this book than just a riveting story but also some awesome cocktails recipes, magic tricks, and awesome cartoon drawings.

The Worst Parts:

The hardest part of the novel is that it isn’t in order, and it isn’t meant for you to read it in order either. You are supposed to skip around and that bugs the OCD part of me where I just want things to be in a straight line, but I have to say the sense of adventure in this novel is uplifting. The one difficult portion to this novel was the Cryptic Crossword Puzzle. I didn’t know how to fill it in or anything and feel like a failure… but the best part of this story is the part where we meet David and he gets to annotate an entire section. It shows more of their relationship together than just reading the stories between them.

Final Thoughts:

Even though I have read a fair amount of this novel I felt that I could do this review without fully finishing it. Even though it is only 291 pages long it will take hours for me to go through and finish all of the story lines that are placed within this novel, which doesn’t deter me but just makes me want to read more! This is the first memoir in a long time that I have felt really shows the true nature of the person behind the mask. Absolutely amazing.

4 thoughts on “Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris

Leave a comment