When I Make You Mine by Rae Daniel

51GQzKKJYqL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

Purchased: Kindle – $.99 [Received copy from author in exchange for an honest review]

My Rating: 2 of 5 Stars

Spoilers!

What’s It All About:

Reeling from a recent break-up, Anne is surprised when she meets Jim, her handsome ER doctor. She’s been burned one too many times before, with the most recent relationship fail happening not even an hour before they meet! Catching her on-again-off-again now definitely-off-again boyfriend with her roommate, in her own living room, was definitely not how she planned on spending her Saturday. She definitely didn’t plan on spending it in the ER either! 

It’s not been Anne’s best day, to say the least! 

Jim’s been looking for ‘The One’ for what seems like forever. His work hours limit his dating life and any women who come into the ER are either drunk out of their minds or are on enough drugs to make rock stars jealous. Getting involved with a patient is the last thing that he wants or needs. 

Until Anne. 

Will Jim and Anne get their happy ever after or does Ben, her best guy friend, have intentions of his own? 

Sometimes, you have to close your eyes and listen to your heart in order to see the future.

Description taken from Amazon.

The Best Parts:

When I started this book I couldn’t stop laughing two pages in, but truthfully those were the best two pages of the book. I think that the storyline was phenomenal, but that it also felt short. We were all over this independent woman who was sick and just caught her someone what guy cheating on her, then bam, hospital with a new guy, and then another new guy, and then another, and then later on in the book even another. There were too many guys for her to be drooling over which had you heard spinning on where it was actually going to be going. For this being so short that many characters shouldn’t have been introduced because at one point in time I stopped caring about anyone other than Anne and Jim which in a sense made me think then what was the point to these new characters besides set up their stories for the next book.

The characters were ones that we fun, but a little too out there. They weren’t realistic and yes I know this is a novella but I have read plenty that keep it super smutty and outrageous, but where the characters are still believable. It was so hot and cold, but then I got rug burn, and then laughed and then cringed.

The Worst Parts:

Now when talking about the story line and the characters there was a lot that affected me while reading. That main thing was language. I know when writing a review you aren’t supposed to attack the author and some people think that reviewing the writing is attacking the author, but in this case I just have to say something.

The word choices for this book were horrendous. At first I thought the banter between Anne and Renee was super fun and funny to read, but then it just got annoying. I am totally one for cursing, but every other words all day every day is just annoying. Along with the cursing there was lots of language that shout NOT be in a romance novel during a sex scene that were here. I’m going to say this now if you want to know keep reading, if not then stop being I’m going to post the graphic nature here.

During their first time having sex it is going great and then it gets super awkward, like to the point that I had a co-worker read it and we were both cringing because we felt physically uncomfortable.

“I think your stick wants to play in my hole, by the way that it’s eyeing it like a Christmas present.” 

“My stick is going to take your hole so firmly and slowly, that your hole will miss this stick the moment it pulls out.” 

“My hole is pouting already. Feel it, she’s sort of crying too.” I grab his hand and place it firmly over wet my mound. “That’s what the wetness is down there. It’s tears. Tears for your dick.”

Chuckling, he removes his boxer briefs the rest of the way. “Never fear, sugar. Your tears are safe with me. All of them. I’ll never make you cry over me or my stick. Anytime you want to have a playdate, call and he’ll come running. Now, stop stalling and get your hands on my dick.”

Like no. None of this. Who thought that this would be ok to publish? Like no, I’m sorry if this is harsh but my goodness. There is also a part where many times she references “Panty splash.” That, that is also a no. It’s so awkward and happens at the oddest time. Like just say your wet. Panty splash sounds like a teenager – also this is the language for a lot of the novel – and let’s be clear that these are people in their mid twenties.

Besides the language during the sex there was also the physicality of what happened. The whole part about her hymen baffled me a little. She used a vibrator, but never broke it, and going to assume she had to not use tampons when growing up if she was the cautious, and she hasn’t had a guy finger her before either, it just didn’t seem realistic. Second thing was when she said years ago she realized she didn’t have a gag reflex. Like how do you just find that out. Because your acting like a crazy woman who hasn’t had any sexual things happen to her before.

Final Thoughts:

This book. This could have bee so much better. This could have been longer but if the author wanted to keep the novella length then it needed to be reworded as well wording definitely needed to be change. I was brought out of the story so many times with awkward and uncomfortable scenes, and don’t get me wrong I LOVE some hardcore sex scenes and taboo and everything erotica and romance novel, but this one just did’t fit the bill.

Leave a comment